Hearing Decision

Hearing Number: 19

Event: Hobie 16 World Championships 2022Race Number: 4B
Protesting Boat: 12 - GAQUERELProtested Boat: 27 - BROWN
Submitted Date/time:  27 Sep 2022 17:51
Hearing Details: Port/starboard

Facts Found


Sailing upwind, Boat 12 and 27 both on starboard tack with 27 ahead and to leeward

Boat 27 tacked to port and stalled their tack

Boat 12 altered course to avoid contact with 27

Boat 27 took at two tack penalty

There was no contact

The wind was approxiimately 8 kts and moderate waves.



Boat 27 on port failed to keep clear of Boat 12 on starboard and broke Rule 10.

Rule(s) applicable

 RRS 10, NOR 3



Protest upheld. Boat 27 took the applicable penalty and is not further penalized.

Jury Members

 Julka Gurvinderpal IND IJ (Chairman), Cesar Sans ESP IJ, Jean Claude Bornes FRA IJ, Manuel Pedreira ESP NJ, Paul Pascoe AUS IJ