Hearing Decision

Hearing Number: 15

Event: Hobie 16 World Championships 2022Race Number: 1
Protesting Boat: 12 - GaquerelProtested Boat: 24 - Wallace
Submitted Date/time:  25 Sep 2022 17:38
Hearing Details: Windward boat

Facts Found


Sailing upwind on port tack boat 24 to windward of 12. 

Boat 24 altered course to leeward sailing a lower course to windward than 12. 

The starboard bow of 12 made contact with the port bow of boat 24 and continued to make contact with the bow of 24 running down the side of 12.

Boat 24 capsized and subsequently retired from the race.

No boat took an on water penalty.

The wind strength was approximate 12 knots and the sea state was half a metre.




1. Boat 24 on windward failed to keep clear of Boat 12 on leeward and broke RRS 11.

2. Boat 24 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible and broke RRS 14.

3. It was not reasonably possible for Boat 12, the right of way boat, to avoid contact wiyth Boat 24 when it became clear that Boat 24 was not keeping clear. Boat 12 did not break RRS 14.

Rule(s) applicable

 RRS 11,14



Protest upheld. Boat 24 took the applicable penalty and is not further penalized.

Jury Members

 Julka Gurvinderpal IND IJ (Chairman), Manuel Pedreira ESP NJ, Paul Pascoe AUS IJ, Walter Mielke GER IJ, Nohelia Morate ESP NJ