Hearing Decision

Hearing Number: 08

Event: Hobie 16 World Championships 2022Race Number: 2
Protesting Boat: 10 - Martinez AlturProtested Boat: 41 - Rumpf
Submitted Date/time:  22 Sep 2022 13:49
Hearing Details: Downwind port/starboard

Facts Found


1. The wind was 9-10 knots and there were small waves.

2. Boats 10 (Martinez) and  41 (Rumpf) were both sailing on port tack, on the first downwind leg, towards the gate marks. 

3. Boat 10 was clear astern by less than a boat length and on a track 1 to 2 boat lengths to leeward of Boat 41.

4. Boat 17 on starboard tack was approaching Boats 10 and 41 at a distance.

5. Boat 41 bore away to gybe to starboard to avoid Boat 17 and established a windward overlap on Boat 41. 

6. After Boat 41 had gybed, Boat 10 was at a distance of less than 1 boat length from Boat 41.

7. The boats were then on converging courses.

8. Boat 10 bore away to avoid a collision. 

9. Contact took place between the starboard bow of Boat 41 and the port bow of Boat 10.

10. There was slight damage to Boat 10.

11. There was no injury.

12. Neither boat took a penalty.



1. When acquiring right of way through her own actions, Boat 41 failed to initially give Boat 10 room to keep clear, and broke RRS 15.

2. Boat 10 on port failed to keep clear of Boat 41 on starboard and broke Rule 10.

3. Boat 41 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible and broke Rule 14.

4. It was not reasonably possible for Boat 10, the boat sailing within the room to which she was entitled, to avoid contact with Boat 41 when it became clear that Boat 41 was not giving her room. Boat 10 did not break Rule 14.

5. Since Boat 10 broke RRS 10 while she was sailing within the room to which she was entitled, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(b) for this breach.

Rule(s) applicable

 10, 14, 15, 43.1 (b)



Boat 41 (Rumpf) is DSQ in race 2.

Jury Members

 Julka Gurvinderpal IND IJ (Chairman), Cesar Sans ESP IJ, Manuel Pedreira ESP NJ, Paul Pascoe AUS IJ, Walter Mielke GER IJ