Hearing Decision

Hearing Number: 3

Event: Lipton Cup 2025Race Number: 4
Protesting Boat: International Cadet 9611 Thrill SeekerProtested Boat: International Cadet 9931 Jonathan L
Submitted Date/time:  16 Nov 2025 12:24
Hearing Details: Port/starboard

Facts Found

 

  • 9611 and 9931 were sailing on a beat to windward on a collision course.

  • 9611 was on starboard tack and 9931 was on port tack.

  • When the boats were approximately half a boat length apart, 9611 luffed to try to avoid 9931.

  • Contact occurred between the port bow of 9611 and the starboard bow of 9931.

  • 9611 hailed protest.

  • Neither boat took a penalty.

  • There was minor damage to 9611.

  • 9611 did not finish the race.


Conclusion

 

  • 9931 on port tack failed to keep clear of 9611 on starboard tack, and broke RRS 10.

  • It was not reasonably possible for 9611, the right-of-way boat, to avoid contact with 9931 when it became clear that 9931 was not keeping clear. 9611 did not break RRS 14(a).

  • 9611’s score in Race 4 was made significantly worse through her own fault. Therefore, the requirements for redress in RRS 61.4(b) are not met.


Rule(s) applicable

 10, 14(a)

Decision

 

  • 9931 is disqualified from Race 4.

  • Redress is not given to 9611.


Jury Members

 Theresa Morton AUS PCM (Chairman), Michael Arnold AUS NJ, Mikayla Thompson AUS NJ

Signature

 

 


Results by SailingResults.net  Created 08 Dec 2025 04:50