Hearing Decision

Hearing Number: 02

Event: Lipton Cup 2025Race Number: 3
Protesting Boat: International Cadet 9527 Mustang SallyProtested Boat: International Cadet 9915 Mockingjay
Submitted Date/time:  15 Nov 2025 16:53
Hearing Details: Upwind Port/Starboard

Facts Found

 

- 9527 and 9915 were on a beat to windward

- 9915 was on port tack, and 9527 was on starboard tack

- The boats were on a collision course

- Contact occurred between the port bow of 9527 and the starboard side of 9915, slightly aft of midships

- 9527 hailed protest

- Neither boat took a penalty

- There was damage to the bow of 9527, in the form of minor damage to gelcoat.

- Both boats finished the race


Conclusion

 

- 9915 on port tack failed to keep clear of 9527 on starboard tack, and broke RRS 10.

- It was not reasonably possible for 9527, the right-of-way boat, to avoid contact with 9915 when it became clear that 9915 was not keeping clear. 9527 did not break RRS 14(a).


Rule(s) applicable

 10, 14(a)

Decision

 9915 is DSQ from Race 3.

Jury Members

 Mikayla Thompson AUS NJ (Chairman), Michael Arnold AUS NJ, Michael Bradley AUS RJ, Theresa Morton AUS PCM

Signature

 

 


Results by SailingResults.net  Created 08 Dec 2025 04:50